Translate

27 August 2014

Book Spotlight and Giveaway!!! THE HOOK UP, Kristen Callihan


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Book Information



Title: The Hook Up

Author: Kristen Callihan

Release Date: September 8, 2014

Genre: New Adult




Summary

The rules: no kissing on the mouth, no staying the night, no telling anyone, and above all… No falling in love

Anna Jones just wants to finish college and figure out her life. Falling for star quarterback Drew Baylor is certainly not on her to do list. Confident and charming, he lives in the limelight and is way too gorgeous for his own good. If only she could ignore his heated stares and stop thinking about doing hot and dirty things with him. Easy right?

Too bad he’s committed to making her break every rule…

Football has been good to Drew. It’s given him recognition, two National Championships, and the Heisman. But what he really craves is sexy yet prickly Anna Jones. Her cutting humor and blatant disregard for his fame turns him on like nothing else. But there’s one problem: she's shut him down. Completely.

That is until a chance encounter leads to the hottest sex of their lives, along with the possibility of something great. Unfortunately, Anna wants it to remain a hook up. Now it’s up to Drew to tempt her with more: more sex, more satisfaction, more time with him. Until she’s truly hooked. It's a good thing Drew knows all about winning.

All’s fair in love and football…Game on

Excerpt

My mother once told me that the most important moment in my life wouldn’t be when I won the National Championship or even the Super Bowl. It would be when I fell in love.

Life, she insisted, is how you live it and who you live it with, not what you do to make a living. Given that she told me this when I was sixteen, I basically rolled my eyes and worked on practicing my pass fakes.

But my mother was insistent.

“You’ll see, Drew. One day, love will creep up and smack you upside the head. Then you’ll understand.”

My mom, it turns out, was wrong in one regard. Love, when it came for me, did not creep. No, it walked up to me, bold as you please, you know, just in case I wasn’t paying attention. It did, however, slap me upside my head.

And while I’d be happy to tell my mom that she was right about that, she’s dead. A fact that hurts even more now that I’ve been struck down. More like shot down. Cut off at the knees. Totally fucked. Whatever you want to call this disaster. Because the object of my affection hates me.

I am man enough to acknowledge that the cluster fuck that is my current love life is entirely my fault. I wasn’t prepared for Anna Jones.

I still cringe at the memory of when I first laid eyes on her at the beginning of the semester. Being late for class, I’d rushed to a seat in the back row, and was trying to remain unnoticed. I can’t go anywhere on campus without getting attention. And though it sounds like an awesome thing, it gets tiring.

When the roll call reached the back row, a soft voice, rich and thick as maple syrup, slid over me.

“Anna Jones.”

Just her name. That was all she’d said. It was like a hot finger stroking down my spine. My head snapped up. And there she was, so fucking pretty that I couldn’t think straight. I might as well have been sacked.

Breathless, my head ringing, I could only gape. I’m not going to say it was love at first sight. No, it was more like oh, hell-yes-please, I’ll have that. With a helping of right-the-fuck-now on the side.

Thinking maybe I was overtired and simply overreacting to something that wasn’t really there, I stared at Anna Jones and tried to make sense of my extreme reaction.

As if feeling my gaze, she’d turned, and fucking hell… Her eyes were wide, almost cat-like, with the corners tilting up just a bit. At first, those eyes appeared brown, but they were really bottle green. And so clear. And annoyed. She glared at me. I didn’t care. One word was playing a loop in my head: mine.

I don’t remember the rest of the class. I watched Anna Jones like a condemned man getting his last view of the setting sun. While she tried to ignore me. Admirably.

The second class ended I shot up, and so did she. We nearly collided in the middle of the aisle. And then it all fell to shit.


Pre-order Link


Author Biography

Kristen Callihan is an author because there is nothing else she’d rather do. She is a three-time RITA nominee, and winner of two RT Reviewer’s Choice awards. Her novels have garnered starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly and the Library Journal, as well as being awarded top picks by many reviewers. Her debut book FIRELIGHT received RT Magazine’s Seal of Excellence, was named a best book of the year by Library Journal, best book of Spring 2012 by Publisher’s Weekly, and was named the best romance book of 2012 by ALA RUSA. When she is not writing, she is reading. 


Social Networking Links


23 July 2014

Blog Review: Face Time, Life in the Digital Age. S.J. Pajonas


Reading Level:Contemporary Romance/New Adult

Format:

Ebook

Publisher:

Onigiri Press 4/25/14

Rating:

4


This book is "what happens when ELEANOR AND PARK grow up and move away." As much as I liked E&P, I liked this one a bit better. The characters Laura (Caucasian) and Lee (Korean American) are likable characters. Extremely so. I had a hard time getting a feel for how Laura looked. I know that she was toned, she had brownish/reddish hair and was 5'7. But Lee gets more descriptors and I honestly kinda inserted Daniel Dae-Kim in that role (Jin from LOST). 

There is a bit of a cute-meet in the book, but it adds to the flavor of the book. Laura shows up at the Blue Room at the Alqonquin Hotel (gorgeous hotel btw) to meet up with single co-workers after work. Unfortunately she's been stood up and isn't in the best of moods. So when this guy starts insinuating himself into her conversation with the bartender, she gets a bit snippy. Fortunately for her, she's snippy with the gorgeous Lee. To apologize she buys him a drink. From there they talk pretty much for the evening and a connection is made.

Unfortunately, Lee is only in the States for a day and half. Lee, not one to let something good go past. Asks Laura out to dinner for the next night. Laura questions her sanity going out with someone who lives in Korea. We find out that Lee is originally from Seattle. So he's American born and bred, but took a job in Korea with a high-powered law firm. Laura works for HBO.

The book is told in alternating POVs and I loved that because we got inside both of their heads. Once Lee leaves for Korea is when the romance really heats up. They talk over Face Time when they can and when Lee's schedule allows them too. He travels all over Asia for his job and Laura is stuck in NYC with a crazy mom. Being a third party to the growing romance might seem a bit voyeuristic, but I found myself smiling.

As we learn more about Laura and Lee, we see into their former home life and how different it was, but in some ways similar. Laura was treated horribly by her parents after a brief time of rebellion. Lee's mother wants him to marry a Korean woman. He wants to marry for love and not acceptance and standing.

My only issue with the book was the abrupt ending. It could've gone on forever for me. Hurry up and purchase this book. You'll fall in love with it just as much as I did.


07 July 2014

Book Review: BEAUTIFUL OBLIVION, Jamie McGuire.


Reading Level:Contemporary Romance/New Adult

Format:

Ebook 

Publisher:

Atria (Simon & Schuster)  7/1/2014

Rating:

2


I had pretty high expectations for this book. It's been highly touted on Goodreads, several blogs, EW, etc. Jamie McGuire hit a high note with BEAUTIFUL DISASTER (see my review here). But she falls flat with this Maddox Brothers continuation.

I liked Trent in BD. He seemed like the obvious choice for a book. What went wrong for me was the time period which was during the BD storyline. Couldn't she have made it separate? Does it always have to go back to Travis? Why not let Trent star in his own story?

However that wasn't the main problem. The writing just wasn't there. It didn't keep me glued to my e-reader like BD did. I'm not going to mention WALKING DISASTER because that was a mess. (Um, guess I just mentioned it.)

I like Jamie's style of writing, I do. But she can't try to replicate the success she had with BD with every book she writes. With the exception of not nearly enough F words in this outing, Trent and Travis were interchangeable. There was no difference between the two. Okay, they're brothers, but they're not the same person. I wanted to love Trent, but I think I only just liked his character.

Cami Camlin. She was wishy washy and the 'secret' romance she had going on was too predictable and the glaring hints really didn't make it a surprise at all. If you read Travis' book, you know what Tom is. That's all I have to say on that one.

The roommate, Brazil and the bouncer. Annoying. I really didn't give too much to them and found it slowed the story down a bit. It's pretty bad when you can't remember their names either.

A big disappointment, will I read the next book in the series? Most likely. I hope the typos are not quite as prominent as they were in this one. 

30 May 2014

FATHER'S DAY GIVEAWAY!!!

I'm giving away a copy of JAMES MADISON: A Life Reconsidered.

As a political science major and one who focused on THE FEDERALIST PAPERS. Specifically the ones written by Madison and Hamilton. This book should be a good one! For those of you who have husbands that love history or dads who just like to read, ENTER THIS GIVEAWAY!

I will need to pick a winner by JUNE 10, for you to receive book by Dad's Day.  Just Enter in the Rafflecopter linked.  Easy Peasy.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


JAMES MADISON: A Life Reconsidered
By Lynne Cheney
(Viking / On-sale: May 6, 2014; $36.00; ISBN: 9780670025190)

Praise:
“Lucidly written… this is probably the best single volume bio of Madison that we now have.”
—Gordon Wood, New York Times Book Review

“The book is a lovingly researched tribute to an often-underestimated man. It does not explicitly refer to modern controversies. But present-day politics intrudes.”
The Economist

“Cheney might have written a book that made Madison a prop in today’s political battles. She did not, which is greatly to her credit and true to the life of the man.”
Washington Post

“Meticulously researched, richly detailed look at the life and times of Madison, former Second Lady Cheney fleshes out the achievements and struggles of this American founding father…authoritative, conversational, certainly confident in its analysis.” 
Publishers Weekly
“A proficiently argued account for Madison’s greatness.”
Kirkus Reviews
"With this compelling, elegant, original biography, Lynne Cheney brings the great, elusive James Madison back to life, reminding us of how powerfully this brilliant Founder’s political and intellectual leadership has shaped the course of American history.  In this era in which Madison is too often eclipsed by more histrionic Founders, Cheney shows us his crucial, fascinating relationships with Dolley, Thomas Jefferson and an all-star cast, and lets us witness the growth of a world-changing political philosopher. Her book demonstrates why Madison deserves to stand near the center of our early American firmament.”  
Michael Beschloss, author of The Conquerors and Presidential Courage
“James Madison did as much to put his stamp on the nation as any of the founders, yet too rarely is he given his due in the pantheon of America’s statesman. In this stunning, brilliant work, Lynne Cheney rectifies this glaring oversight, and brings Madison to life as never before. Written with subtlety and grace, the book is as groundbreaking as it is fresh, as enthralling as it is compulsively readable. It is nothing short of a masterpiece that deserves to be in the bookshelf of every history buff!”
Jay Winik, author of April 1865 and The Great Upheaval
"After more than 25 years working on the Madison Papers, it's not often that I read something about him that is fresh and engaging, and discovers new aspects of his life and character.  Cheney's exploration of Madison's health issues, not only as a young man, but throughout his career, is imaginative and groundbreaking. Her writing is both fluid and polished; the tone is measured and judicious; there isn't a strident note in the whole book. And, an added plus, her treatment of Madison as a political actor is informed by a sophisticated knowledge of politics, without in any way being presentist.” 
David B. Mattern, Research Professor and Senior Associate Editor, Papers of James Madison, University of Virginia

WHOLynne Cheney, wife of former Vice President Dick Cheney, is a senior fellow at the American Enterprise Institute. She is the author or co-author of twelve books, includes six bestsellers about American history for children and their families.  Cheney’s most recent book is We the People: The Story of Our Constitution (2008). 
WHAT: Cheney, who holds a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin, has been studying Madison since 1987, when she was a member of the Commission on the Bicentennial of the Constitution.  She has spent the last five years immersed in Madison archival materials, and the result is a lively, intimate, and compelling narrative that takes the reader through the history-altering events in which Madison played key roles.  He was not only the Father of the Constitution, but the leader of the first Congress and President Washington’s most influential advisor.  He used both positions and a political savvy unmatched since to secure passage of the Bill of Rights. In 1812, he became the first president to lead the nation in war under the Constitution, and he was not only as steady a commander-in-chief as the nation has ever known, he was a friend of liberty, refusing to silence those opposed to war, although many pressed him to do so.

WHY: Father of the Constitution, principle author of the Bill of Rights, founder of the first opposition party, secretary of state, and fourth president, Madison was both a far-seeing theorist and a masterful politician, who despite all he accomplished has been overshadowed by other Founders.  Mrs. Cheney covers the sweep of Madison’s significant life, exploring his deeds, his mind, and his character to reveal the brilliance and determination that enabled this seemingly modest man to change the world.  Debunking the myths that have burdened his reputation, she shows us the Madison lauded by his famous contemporaries—Washington, Adams, Jefferson—and loved by his glamorous wife, Dolley. 

Share It

2014 Goodreads Challenge

Laura's 2014-read book montage

Push
To Professor, with Love
Loving Mr. Daniels
Ransom
Imaginary Lines
Finally, Forever
Price of a Kiss
Love of a Rockstar
Sweet Addiction
The One
Sweet Rome
Affirmation
Reparation
Mitigation
Violation
Stipulation
Objection
Freed
Infinity.
Timeless


Laura's favorite books »

Followers

Goodreads

Laura's weight loss goal

Created by MyFitnessPal - Free Calorie Counter

FeedBurner FeedCount

Blogoversary!

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Google+ Badge