Translate

23 July 2014

Blog Review: Face Time, Life in the Digital Age. S.J. Pajonas


Reading Level:Contemporary Romance/New Adult

Format:

Ebook

Publisher:

Onigiri Press 4/25/14

Rating:

4


This book is "what happens when ELEANOR AND PARK grow up and move away." As much as I liked E&P, I liked this one a bit better. The characters Laura (Caucasian) and Lee (Korean American) are likable characters. Extremely so. I had a hard time getting a feel for how Laura looked. I know that she was toned, she had brownish/reddish hair and was 5'7. But Lee gets more descriptors and I honestly kinda inserted Daniel Dae-Kim in that role (Jin from LOST). 

There is a bit of a cute-meet in the book, but it adds to the flavor of the book. Laura shows up at the Blue Room at the Alqonquin Hotel (gorgeous hotel btw) to meet up with single co-workers after work. Unfortunately she's been stood up and isn't in the best of moods. So when this guy starts insinuating himself into her conversation with the bartender, she gets a bit snippy. Fortunately for her, she's snippy with the gorgeous Lee. To apologize she buys him a drink. From there they talk pretty much for the evening and a connection is made.

Unfortunately, Lee is only in the States for a day and half. Lee, not one to let something good go past. Asks Laura out to dinner for the next night. Laura questions her sanity going out with someone who lives in Korea. We find out that Lee is originally from Seattle. So he's American born and bred, but took a job in Korea with a high-powered law firm. Laura works for HBO.

The book is told in alternating POVs and I loved that because we got inside both of their heads. Once Lee leaves for Korea is when the romance really heats up. They talk over Face Time when they can and when Lee's schedule allows them too. He travels all over Asia for his job and Laura is stuck in NYC with a crazy mom. Being a third party to the growing romance might seem a bit voyeuristic, but I found myself smiling.

As we learn more about Laura and Lee, we see into their former home life and how different it was, but in some ways similar. Laura was treated horribly by her parents after a brief time of rebellion. Lee's mother wants him to marry a Korean woman. He wants to marry for love and not acceptance and standing.

My only issue with the book was the abrupt ending. It could've gone on forever for me. Hurry up and purchase this book. You'll fall in love with it just as much as I did.


07 July 2014

Book Review: BEAUTIFUL OBLIVION, Jamie McGuire.


Reading Level:Contemporary Romance/New Adult

Format:

Ebook 

Publisher:

Atria (Simon & Schuster)  7/1/2014

Rating:

2


I had pretty high expectations for this book. It's been highly touted on Goodreads, several blogs, EW, etc. Jamie McGuire hit a high note with BEAUTIFUL DISASTER (see my review here). But she falls flat with this Maddox Brothers continuation.

I liked Trent in BD. He seemed like the obvious choice for a book. What went wrong for me was the time period which was during the BD storyline. Couldn't she have made it separate? Does it always have to go back to Travis? Why not let Trent star in his own story?

However that wasn't the main problem. The writing just wasn't there. It didn't keep me glued to my e-reader like BD did. I'm not going to mention WALKING DISASTER because that was a mess. (Um, guess I just mentioned it.)

I like Jamie's style of writing, I do. But she can't try to replicate the success she had with BD with every book she writes. With the exception of not nearly enough F words in this outing, Trent and Travis were interchangeable. There was no difference between the two. Okay, they're brothers, but they're not the same person. I wanted to love Trent, but I think I only just liked his character.

Cami Camlin. She was wishy washy and the 'secret' romance she had going on was too predictable and the glaring hints really didn't make it a surprise at all. If you read Travis' book, you know what Tom is. That's all I have to say on that one.

The roommate, Brazil and the bouncer. Annoying. I really didn't give too much to them and found it slowed the story down a bit. It's pretty bad when you can't remember their names either.

A big disappointment, will I read the next book in the series? Most likely. I hope the typos are not quite as prominent as they were in this one. 

30 May 2014

FATHER'S DAY GIVEAWAY!!!

I'm giving away a copy of JAMES MADISON: A Life Reconsidered.

As a political science major and one who focused on THE FEDERALIST PAPERS. Specifically the ones written by Madison and Hamilton. This book should be a good one! For those of you who have husbands that love history or dads who just like to read, ENTER THIS GIVEAWAY!

I will need to pick a winner by JUNE 10, for you to receive book by Dad's Day.  Just Enter in the Rafflecopter linked.  Easy Peasy.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


JAMES MADISON: A Life Reconsidered
By Lynne Cheney
(Viking / On-sale: May 6, 2014; $36.00; ISBN: 9780670025190)

Praise:
“Lucidly written… this is probably the best single volume bio of Madison that we now have.”
—Gordon Wood, New York Times Book Review

“The book is a lovingly researched tribute to an often-underestimated man. It does not explicitly refer to modern controversies. But present-day politics intrudes.”
The Economist

“Cheney might have written a book that made Madison a prop in today’s political battles. She did not, which is greatly to her credit and true to the life of the man.”
Washington Post

“Meticulously researched, richly detailed look at the life and times of Madison, former Second Lady Cheney fleshes out the achievements and struggles of this American founding father…authoritative, conversational, certainly confident in its analysis.” 
Publishers Weekly
“A proficiently argued account for Madison’s greatness.”
Kirkus Reviews
"With this compelling, elegant, original biography, Lynne Cheney brings the great, elusive James Madison back to life, reminding us of how powerfully this brilliant Founder’s political and intellectual leadership has shaped the course of American history.  In this era in which Madison is too often eclipsed by more histrionic Founders, Cheney shows us his crucial, fascinating relationships with Dolley, Thomas Jefferson and an all-star cast, and lets us witness the growth of a world-changing political philosopher. Her book demonstrates why Madison deserves to stand near the center of our early American firmament.”  
Michael Beschloss, author of The Conquerors and Presidential Courage
“James Madison did as much to put his stamp on the nation as any of the founders, yet too rarely is he given his due in the pantheon of America’s statesman. In this stunning, brilliant work, Lynne Cheney rectifies this glaring oversight, and brings Madison to life as never before. Written with subtlety and grace, the book is as groundbreaking as it is fresh, as enthralling as it is compulsively readable. It is nothing short of a masterpiece that deserves to be in the bookshelf of every history buff!”
Jay Winik, author of April 1865 and The Great Upheaval
"After more than 25 years working on the Madison Papers, it's not often that I read something about him that is fresh and engaging, and discovers new aspects of his life and character.  Cheney's exploration of Madison's health issues, not only as a young man, but throughout his career, is imaginative and groundbreaking. Her writing is both fluid and polished; the tone is measured and judicious; there isn't a strident note in the whole book. And, an added plus, her treatment of Madison as a political actor is informed by a sophisticated knowledge of politics, without in any way being presentist.” 
David B. Mattern, Research Professor and Senior Associate Editor, Papers of James Madison, University of Virginia

WHOLynne Cheney, wife of former Vice President Dick Cheney, is a senior fellow at the American Enterprise Institute. She is the author or co-author of twelve books, includes six bestsellers about American history for children and their families.  Cheney’s most recent book is We the People: The Story of Our Constitution (2008). 
WHAT: Cheney, who holds a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin, has been studying Madison since 1987, when she was a member of the Commission on the Bicentennial of the Constitution.  She has spent the last five years immersed in Madison archival materials, and the result is a lively, intimate, and compelling narrative that takes the reader through the history-altering events in which Madison played key roles.  He was not only the Father of the Constitution, but the leader of the first Congress and President Washington’s most influential advisor.  He used both positions and a political savvy unmatched since to secure passage of the Bill of Rights. In 1812, he became the first president to lead the nation in war under the Constitution, and he was not only as steady a commander-in-chief as the nation has ever known, he was a friend of liberty, refusing to silence those opposed to war, although many pressed him to do so.

WHY: Father of the Constitution, principle author of the Bill of Rights, founder of the first opposition party, secretary of state, and fourth president, Madison was both a far-seeing theorist and a masterful politician, who despite all he accomplished has been overshadowed by other Founders.  Mrs. Cheney covers the sweep of Madison’s significant life, exploring his deeds, his mind, and his character to reveal the brilliance and determination that enabled this seemingly modest man to change the world.  Debunking the myths that have burdened his reputation, she shows us the Madison lauded by his famous contemporaries—Washington, Adams, Jefferson—and loved by his glamorous wife, Dolley. 

27 May 2014

Cover Reveal: Alex: A Cold Fury Hockey Novel by Sawyer Bennett

COVER REVEAL! ALEX: A Cold Fury Hockey Novel by Sawyer Bennett


Loveswept (Random House) is thrilled to debut the cover of ALEX: A Cold Fury Hockey Novel by USA Today bestselling author Sawyer Bennett! ALEX is the first in a sexy and exciting new series that’s hot enough to melt the ice…


















ALEX (A Cold Fury Hockey Novel)
Loveswept Contemporary Romance
Written by Sawyer Bennett
On sale: October 14, 2014
ISBN: 978-0-553-39300-2

About ALEX: 

Hockey star Alexander Crossman has a reputation as a cold-hearted player on and off the rink. Pushed into the sport by an alcoholic father, Alex isn’t afraid to give fans the proverbial middle finger, relishing his role as the MVP they love to hate. Management, however, isn’t so amused. Now Alex has a choice: fix his public image through community service or ride the bench. But Alex refuses to be molded into the Carolina Cold Fury poster boy… not even by a tempting redhead with killer curves.
 
As a social worker, Sutton Price is accustomed to difficult people—like Alex, who’s been assigned to help her create a drug-abuse awareness program for at-risk youth as part of the team’s effort to clean up his image. What she doesn’t expect is the arrogant smirk from his perfect lips to stir her most heated fantasies. But Sutton isn’t one to cross professional boundaries—and besides, Alex doesn’t do relationships… or does he? The more she sees behind Alex’s bad-boy fa├žade, the more Sutton craves the man she uncovers.
  
Get your copy of ALEX (A Cold Fury Hockey Novel)

Amazon  |  B&N  |  iBooks  |  Google Play  |  Kobo  |  Other retailers

About Sawyer Bennett
USA Today bestselling author Sawyer Bennett is a snarky Southern woman and reformed trial lawyer who decided to finally start putting on paper all of the stories that were floating in her head. Her husband works for a Fortune 100 company which lets him fly all over the world while she stays at home with their daughter and three big, furry dogs who hog the bed. Sawyer would like to report she doesn’t have many weaknesses but can be bribed with a nominal amount of milk chocolate.


Connect with Sawyer
Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Street Team

Connect with Loveswept
Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Street Team

Share It

2014 Goodreads Challenge

Laura's 2014-read book montage

Push
To Professor, with Love
Loving Mr. Daniels
Ransom
Imaginary Lines
Finally, Forever
Price of a Kiss
Love of a Rockstar
Sweet Addiction
The One
Sweet Rome
Affirmation
Reparation
Mitigation
Violation
Stipulation
Objection
Freed
Infinity.
Timeless


Laura's favorite books »

Followers

Goodreads

Laura's weight loss goal

Created by MyFitnessPal - Free Calorie Counter

FeedBurner FeedCount

Blogoversary!

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Google+ Badge